At Rosedale Primary, we are committed to delivering a curriculum which is broad and balanced, rich and varied, being flexible and responsive to each child’s wider needs. 

To this end, Rosedale meets the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage and the National Curriculum at Key Stages 1 and 2.  Equally, there is great emphasis on learning beyond the classroom, particularly at the Foundation Stage where the outdoor environment is an essential resource in planning curriculum activities.  As the children get older, so the opportunities to offer first hand practical experiences within the wider community increase.  This includes special visits, educational trips and residentials. 

At the Foundation Stage, the emphasis is on developing key learning skills, as these are the building blocks for future achievement.  Speaking and listening are fundamental to all that we do, underpinning every child’s learning. Other curriculum activities are designed to address the seven areas of learning which make up the Foundation Stage, namely:

  • Personal, social  and  emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Physical development
  • Expressive arts and design
  • Understanding of the world

Many activities are designed to develop some of the softer social skills such as the ability to concentrate and work quite independently.   By contrast, there is also great emphasis placed on the ability to work effectively and cooperatively with others. 

From the very outset, children are encouraged to read, communicate and develop mathematical skills.  Reading is taught through a variety of structured activities, supplemented with a wide range of books and other resources.  Throughout Key Stage 1 (5-7 years) and Key Stage 2 (8-11 years) every pupil follows the National Curriculum which comprises English, Mathematics, Science and Information Communication Technology (ICT).  Beyond these core subjects, there is also a range of foundation subjects which focus on the creative, cultural, spiritual and technological dimensions of learning. This includes Art and Design, Design Technology, French, Geography, History, Physical Education, Religious Education together with Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (PSHCE).  As children get older, there is greater focus on extended written work, Mathematics and Science.  In some instances, this will also be focused on preparing for assessment.

Contact Us