Curriculum Content

Curriculum Content for 2017 to 2018

In Early Years, we follow the Foundation Stage curriculum linked to the three prime areas and four specific areas. The prime areas include Personal, Social and Emotional development, Communication and Language and Physical Development.  The specific areas include Literacy, Mathematics, Expressive Arts and Technology.

In Years 1 through to 6 we teach Mathematics and Literacy, following the National Curriculum objectives. Other subjects, which include:

  • Science
  • Music
  • Art and Design
  • Design and Technology
  • Computing
  • Geography
  • History
  • Religious Education
  • Physical Education

are taught through a topic based curriculum (please see Curriculum Map under Documents and Policies for topic headings in each year group).

Approach to the Curriculum

One of our fundamental beliefs is that the school curriculum is co-constructed with the children; this means the children contribute their ideas to lesson planning.

Rosedale Primary School follows the same curriculum as Hewens and Brookside Primary Schools, therefore the children enjoy learning in collaboration with their peers through joint workshops, school trips, events and activities.

Our topic based curriculum is taught through a progression of skills from Years 1 to 6, within each subject area.


At Rosedale Primary School, we use Read, Write, Inc to teach phonics. This scheme provides solid foundations in the Early Years for learning to read. The children can progress quickly from learning initial sounds to reading whole words and subsequently the joy of reading sentences within their reading books. This scheme promotes the links  between reading and writing. 

Further Information

For further information on our curriculm, please see the weekly School News publications, visit our website gallery or contact the school directly on 020 8573 7103. 


Contact Us